Altes Rathaus - Old Town Hall

On October 13th 1542 the City Council decided that in the  future the Lord’s Supper was permitted in public services using both: bread and wine. Two days later the first worship in the Lutheran way was celebrated in the Neupfarrkirche. That was the beginning of the Reformation in Regensburg.

The Perpetual Imperial Diet met in the Old Town Hall from 1663 – 1806. Regensburg was the still seen as a Protestant city, because one  had to be a Protestant in order to have the complete rights of citizenship. Nevertheless, many citizens were Catholics, without those citizens’ rights.

For nearly 150 years Regensburg was the center of the German Empire. Envoys from many countries were sent to Regensburg in a diplomatic mission. The Ambassadors’ Cemetery tells the story of those days in its tombstones.

In the Old Town Hall you can look around from two different angles:  

PANORAMA:

Altes Rathaus

Am 13. Oktober 1542 beschlossen hier der Innere Rat, der Äußere Rat und der Ausschuss der Gemeinde, dass zukünftig öffentliche Abendmahlsgottesdienste in beiderlei Gestalt gestattet waren. Zwei Tage später feierte man in der NEUPFARRKIRCHE den ersten Gottesdienst in lutherischer Form. - Der Beginn der Reformation in Regensburg!

Im Rathaus tagte von 1663 bis 1806 der Immerwährende Reichstag. Regensburg galt damals immer noch als evangelische Stadt, da man für das Bürgerrecht evangelisch sein musste. Trotzdem waren viele Bewohner katholisch, freilich ohne Bürgerrecht.

Fast 150 Jahre lang war Regensburg somit die Mitte des Reichs. In diplomatischer Mission wurden aus vielen Ländern Adelige nach Regensburg gesandt. Der GESANDTENFRIEDHOF erzählt mit seinen Grabdenkmälern ein Stück dieser Geschichte.

Im Historischen Reichssaal können Sie sich hier aus zwei verschiedenen Perspektiven umschauen.
PANORAMA: